Can Nicky get a hit? Nobody Can Change Me, her new single premieres

Phew! Now that I’ve copied and pasted my first 16 Singles Reviews Diaries from their original homes on various Internet sites to here, I can bring you all the latest goings-on in music. I apologise for my amateur way with this blog but it is my first – so I can only get better. And I’m completely committed.

Anyhow, the woman generally referred to in blogdom as Nicole Flopzinger is still forging away with her solo career, three years after releasing Whatever U Like, the ‘lead single’ from her long shelved debut album Her Name Is Nicole. Yesterday, Nicole went ahead and released a brand new single – Nobody Can Change Me. Scherzinger previously referred to the song as being “empowering” and “very much like the Pussycat Dolls” so it should be a Worldwide hit – right? Take a listen below:

Sadly for Nicole, this doesn’t look like its going to be a super smash. In fact, it’s unlikely that the song will make a dent in the chart at all – the track is a cute mid-tempo that works just fine for Summer. It has an uplifting sound but doesn’t cash in on the current electro craze at all – apart from in the vocal department where Nicole’s voice is needlessly layered with Auto-Tune. This irritating vocal style has probably led to bloggers across the Internet universally panning the new single.

I have to say, I feel sorry for Nicole. The woman clearly wants a hit by herself even though she pretty much IS the Pussycat Dolls.  I also feel that this is a song forced upon her by her record label because Scherzinger is hoping to go “a little more rock, funk, soul edge” on her album (if it’s ever released).

I doubt Nobody Can Change Me will set the charts alight in the US (prove me wrong US readers) but may do well in good ole’ UK. Time will tell I suppose.

One Response to Can Nicky get a hit? Nobody Can Change Me, her new single premieres

  1. Pingback: Meet Pussycat Dolls 3.0 « Not Another Music Blog!!!

Leave a Reply

